Home / Mozzarella / Mozzarella Q&A: Is Mozzarella Vegetarian?


Is Mozzarella Vegetarian?

Strict vegetarians often have to be careful with their choice of cheese since so many contain rennet – a product harvested from the stomachs of a calf, lamb, or goat. Fortunately, at least some mozzarella cheese is marketed as a vegetarian-friendly option.

Traditional mozzarella cheese is made from milk, rennet, and salt. A microbial rennet or a vegetable-based alternative are now used in place of animal rennet by many manufacturers to produce vegetarian-friendly mozzarella cheese, without impacting the cheese's flavor profile in any significant way.

If you follow a vegetarian diet, be sure to check the label or contact the manufacturer to confirm that the mozzarella cheese you choose is suitable for your dietary preferences.

Mozzarella Q & A